NBS Sportfishing : Where there is No BS about the sport
 
Binnacle Custom Tackle

Home Page Forum Board Rules Join Now !! Store Advertisers Links Weather Affiliates Photo Gallery
Go Back   NBS Sportfishing > Forum > GENERAL CHATTER > Bring It On....

Notices

Bring It On.... Whatya have to say, that ain't 'bout fishing? Rated "R" possible in here.


Join in on the "Banned...." discussion here @ NBS Sportfishing. Your input is what makes this place great. Share your experience and information on the No BS Saltwater Fishing Forum / Fishing Community / Fishing Bulletin Board - Fishing Reports, Discussion, Experience and Knowledge Sharing.

What have you got to say about the topic of: "Banned....". Here's how is started: "Surprisingly, they just un-banned me I'm still curious (you know for the next time) so "

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2007, 04:42 PM   #11
NBS Member
 
JayR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bikini Bottom
Posts: 841

Surprisingly, they just un-banned me

I'm still curious (you know for the next time) so please let me know what you find out.
__________________
I really don't care what you have to say about me, just as long as you mention my name
JayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 04:44 PM   #12
 
Possum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,114

Will do
__________________
________________________

NBS Sportfishing Affiliates

Possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 05:10 PM   #13
NBS Member
 
gman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,209

maybe they banned you for being a Pats fan LMAO
gman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 06:20 PM   #14
 
RI Popper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: www.atlanticoffshorelures.com
Posts: 1,220

Quote:
Originally Posted by gman View Post
maybe they banned you for being a Pats fan LMAO
Or maybe they were just tired of being pee'd on? you think that has something to do with it.
__________________
"Fish are a gift from God, by way of a good Lure"
www.atlanticoffshorelures.com
RI Popper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 06:23 PM   #15
NBS Member
 
JayR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bikini Bottom
Posts: 841

Quote:
Originally Posted by gman View Post
maybe they banned you for being a Pats fan LMAO
No, that definitely was not the reason. And you won't believe how I know that.....
The Mod's name is "PatsFan" Honestly, no bullshit!!! "PatsFan"!!!!!

How coincidental is that????
__________________
I really don't care what you have to say about me, just as long as you mention my name
JayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 10:08 PM   #16
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Branford, CT
Posts: 356

Using a proxy server worked for me. Is this site owned by a dwarf with a Napoleonic complex?

Last edited by Possum; 12-15-2007 at 08:41 AM. Reason: Edited out initials...please refrain from bashing.
plugmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 07:59 AM   #17
NBS Member
 
GP-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RI
Posts: 214

Quote:
Originally Posted by Possum View Post
Intriguing. I sent you a PM back Jay. I am wondering now if they popped the MAC Address of the actual cable modem. I am going to do some checking tonight.
Which mac address is seen on the web? The cable modem, router, or the various PC that are on your network. Some routers can "clone" a mac address of a PC on the network. Would that work? I essence if it is the router mac address, you could change it to another on your next work by cloning it in the router set up right and get around it that way?

GP
GP-TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 08:40 AM   #18
NBS Member
 
JayR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bikini Bottom
Posts: 841

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugmeister View Post
Using a proxy server worked for me. Is this site owned by a dwarf with a Napoleonic complex?
I tried using a proxy (while I was banned) Anonymouse.org
and I was able to create an account too. Problem was that I was soon logged out by their system and my new account was deleted. I would get an error telling me the account I was trying to sign into did not exist.

I'll try again, or have my son try to create one (that way I don't have to lie about it).
__________________
I really don't care what you have to say about me, just as long as you mention my name
JayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 08:43 AM   #19
 
Possum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,114

Typically, the MAC address of the actual modem would be the visible address. It really depends on the actual technology being used in the modem (as they vary so much). The cloning from the PC to the router "could" work if the MAC is passed through the modem, but it all depends. I've been digging around a bit, and haven't found much. I know it wasn't blocked at a server level, as you could actually get to the forum software, so I am intrigued to say the least. The search for information will continue...
__________________
________________________

NBS Sportfishing Affiliates

Possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 09:34 AM   #20
 
Possum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,114

The more I dig, the more I come up blank. Since it wasn't IP based, and you cleared ALL your cookies (correct?), it is quite odd. I haven't found any plug-in or mod that provides a MAC address block capability, and it isn't default in that software that I can find. I ask about all cookies, as a site can write a cookie, under a different name, in order to blacklist a duplicate or re-registration (e.g. "cookie of death" as it is referred to).
__________________
________________________

NBS Sportfishing Affiliates

Possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads Do NOT Show To Registered Members
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
banned

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Coastal Marine Gangways
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright ©2006 - 2008, NBSSportFishing.com
TOP 100 FISHING SITES My Topsites List