| | |||||||
| Notices |
| Board Info & Member Intros Various board information will be posted in here, along with any new members wishing to introduce themselves. |
What have you got to say about the topic of: "Spammer Email Hijack". Here's how is started: "Just as an FYI for those here, and those who may visit here due to "
| | LinkBack (1) | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,085
|
Just as an FYI for those here, and those who may visit here due to spam email received, NBSSportfishing.com has been the victim of some spamming a$$hole(s) out in internet land. ![]() Cleaning this up today has been a royal PITA, but I should have it setup now so we get no more (as we literally received nearly 10,000 returned emails, failures, and spam notifications in the last 24 hours). ![]() We have received THOUSANDS of returned email from address that do not exist on NBSSportfishing.com, all of which are spam going out using our domain as the "sender". I have set it up so we here will no longer get bombarded by the onslaught of incoming returned emails, as well as changed the configuration so that this server cannot be used as any form of potential mail relay. If you are someone who received an email from this domain (and did not sign up nor are a member) please rest assured these emails did not come from this site. The only emails that come from here are Registration Confirmation, Message Notification, and the quarterly (or so) "newsletter" emails. | ||
| | |
| | #2 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,085
| Due to the above jackass attack, AT&T (anyemail@sbcglobal.net) is now blocking emails from NBSSportfishing.com. We are working with AT&T and hope to have this resolved soon. | ||
| | |
| | #3 | ||
| NBS Member Join Date: May 2007 Location: East Hampton/Mystic,Ct.
Posts: 163
| Thanks Brad, Keep up the good work. You got more patients than me with this chit thats for shure. | ||
| | |
| | #4 | ||
| NBS Member Join Date: May 2008 Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 3
| At my office we got hit with this about four months ago. One of the guys in the office openned it and it let in the worm virus. It knocked the crap out of our computer. I was safe due to not being tapped into the network at the time. If you see this don't open it up. | ||
| | |
| | #5 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: CT / Summer in RI
Posts: 3,085
|
Looks like AT&T is going to clear this up, so it should be taken care of within a day or so: Code: Administrator/Customer: Thank you for contacting the Postmaster/Abuse team at ATT.NET and BELLSOUTH.NET. The mail-server IP address(es) associated with your request will be removed from the block-list within 24-36 hours from the receipt of this letter. ATT.NET and BELLSOUTH.NET, its affiliates, and network services customers do NOT intentionally block legitimate mail in the course of our anti-spam initiatives. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused. Network administrators at ATT.NET and BELLSOUTH.NET closely analyze the mail stream bound for our customers to identify sources that exhibit the characteristics of compromised network objects or are compromised by an offender of Acceptable Use Policies. While a certain level of this kind of mail is to be expected in today's internet traffic, when this occurs above generous thresholds set by ATT.NET and BELLSOUTH.NET system administrators, immediate and decisive action is taken to protect our network resources. | ||
| | |
| | #6 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: VOODOO GRILL, MYSTIC
Posts: 3,146
| | ||
| | |
| Ads Do NOT Show To Registered Members | |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| email, hijack, spammer |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.nbssportfishing.com/vBforum/f28/spammer-email-hijack-8153/ | ||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| NBS Sportfishing Forums | This thread | Refback | 07-09-2008 01:56 PM | |