Thread: Time for a new rod

Home Port
    Madison Ct
    Images

Time for a new rod

Still laugh when I see it.Last week fishing for togs 10/27 on BONEY Jim was showing me the rod Neil Faulkner Built him.What a nice setup .Its more like a piece of art than a fishing device.So I said yea check this thing out .Ive been fishing with it for 25 years .Well that tog trip ended my use with a 25 year old rod.I got hung up on the rocks so I'm pulling and all of a sudden SNAAAAAPPPP .Sounded like a gun went off .I looked at Jim and he looked at me .We both started roaring all I had in my hand was the butt end of the rod with a reel .This will go down in BONEY HISTORY of laughter.

Home Port
    Exeter, Rhode Island
    Images
    Heard about this, Chuck.........LOLOL

Senior NBS Member Capt Neil Faulkner's Avatar
    Home Port
    Sayville, NY 11782
    Hi ChuckA,

Sorry to hear you lost a trusty, tried and true friend. I have seen guys break graphite meat sticks, even using mono. All we have is a blank, line and a reel. Too many times it is the blank that pays the price.

I hope Jim let you use his rod out of respect for what happened to yours. Ha,ha!!! Somehow I don't see that as what happened. Sorry Jim.

Remember folks to have a 8" or so piece of 1 " dowel handy at all times. When hung up wrap the line around the dowel and pull. Don't use the rod as a winch.

When fishing sticky bottom, especially toggin', my leader may be 30# test. I add a 10 or 15# test loop at the bottom for the sinker loop. If the sinker snags the 10-15 # test loop will break and save the tog/hooks.

I also fish only 1 hook when toggin', even in deep water.

Capt Neil
    Custom Fishing Rods by Capt Neil
    Home of The Long Islander Series of rods
    Sayville, Long Island, New York

(631) 567-8049

Home Port
    SUNNY, ARIZONA
    Images