Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boat rods & reels

Home Port
    Warwick, RI

Boat rods & reels

Hello,

I am new to boat fishing and am looking for a couple of boat rods & reels.

I have done some surf fishing in the past and have a couple of Penn 704Z reels with 10' rods. I'm don't think these would be suitable for use in a boat. I would be going after bass & bluefish and also some bottom fishing. Looking at the Ugly Stik BWB1130 or BWB1140 with maybe a Shimano TR200G reel. Any input would be helpful. I don't know if it makes any difference as to the rod & reel but the boat is a 23' Trophy and would be fishing Narragansett Bay.

Ken

Sportfishing Forums | Saltwater Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Big Game and Sport Fishing Reports; for the serious Sportfisherman.

Home Port
    Exeter, Rhode Island
    Images
    I think the Shimano reels are very nice, but I have a couple of the 704Z's also that I use, they are the only spinners I own. Not wanting to spend the coin on new Shimano reels, see my thread in this section about how I converted them to "bail-less":

http://www.nbssportfishing.com/vBfor...ead.php?t=3795

I have one on an 8' Ugly Stick 10-25#, and another on a Shimano 8' Socorro 15-30#. Both very inexpensive but effective setups.

I have used both for everything from snagging pogies (prefer the Shimano rod for this), bass and blue fishing, tautog fishing, fluking, mahi-mahi, scup, seabass.....etc etc.....

Home Port
    Warwick, RI

Boat Rod&Reel

Hello,

Thank You for the reply. I will try the conversion kits for the 704Z's and get medium action 7' or ' 8' boat rods & 20lb line?

Ken
    Sportfishing Forums | Saltwater Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Big Game and Sport Fishing Reports; for the serious Sportfisherman.

Home Port
    Westbrook

No BS Boat rods